Friday, October 1, 2010

Seabirds of Kiribati – Kiribati. 2005

Page 54 

Kiribati,  officially the Republic of Kiribati, is an island nation located in the central tropical Pacific Ocean.The island nation is composed of 32 atolls and one raised coral island, dispersed over 3.5 million square kilometres.

On August 15, 2005, Kiribati Post collaborated with Birdlife International have issued  two miniature sheets, respectively consist of six postage stamps, featured sea birds species. The first miniature sheet depicted sea birds of Kiribati are White-tailed tropicbird (Phaeton lepturus), Black Noddy ( Anous minutus), Red-footed Booby (Sula sula), Wedge-tailed Shearwater (Puffinus pacificus), White Tern (Gygis alba), and Great Frigatebird (Fregata minor).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...